April 2013 Flood Info

River Gauge 

Here are a few links to the National Weather Service with a view of DuPage River statistics.

USGS DuPage River Gauge at 119th Street
USGS DuPage River Gauge at Shorewood


Flood Assessments (for property tax purposes)

Properties that have been damaged by the April 2013 flood may qualify for a reduction in their assessment if the home has become unlivable or suffered from substantial damage.  The owner should complete the Disaster Area Application for Reassessment.pdf and send it to Plainfield Township Assessor's Office at 22525 W. Lockport St. Plainfield, IL 60544 or fax to 815.436.5117 or email to info@plainfieldassessor.  Please call 815.436.5110 for assistance completing the form.


Flood Financial Assistance

Plainfield Township residents requesting FEMA funds or assistance should contact their county EMA office and then contact IEMA.  For operational needs, residents can contact their local EMA office.

Will County EMA
Harold Damron
302 North Chicago Street
Joliet, IL 60432
(815) 740-8351



U.S. Small Business Administration


SBA Stands Ready to Assist Illinois Residents

Affected by Severe Storms, Winds and Flooding  

WASHINGTON – U.S. Small Business Administration Administrator Karen G. Mills issued the following statement after the announcement of the Presidential disaster declaration in Illinois due to severe storms, winds and flooding between April 16 and May 5, 2013:

“The U.S. Small Business Administration is strongly committed to providing the people of Illinois with the most effective and customer-focused response possible to assist homeowners, renters, and businesses with federal disaster loans. Getting businesses and communities up and running after a disaster is our highest priority at SBA.” 

The disaster declaration covers Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties in Illinois, which are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA.  Small businesses and most private non-profit organizations in the following adjacent counties are eligible to apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans: Boone, Bureau, Kankakee, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Ogle, Peoria, Putnam, Schuyler, Tazewell, Warren, Winnebago and Woodford in Illinois; Lake in Indiana; Kenosha and Walworth in Wisconsin.

Disaster loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate.  Homeowners and renters are eligible up to $40,000 to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed personal property.

Businesses and private non-profit organizations of any size may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets.  The SBA may increase a loan up to 20 percent of the total amount of disaster damage to real estate and/or leasehold improvements, as verified by SBA, to make improvements that lessen the risk of property damage by future similar disasters.

For small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private non-profit organizations of all sizes, the SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster.  Economic Injury Disaster Loan assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any physical property damage.

Interest rates are as low as 1.688 percent for homeowners and renters, 2.875 percent for
non-profit organizations and 4 percent for businesses with terms up to 30 years.  Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

To be considered for all forms of disaster assistance, applicants should register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by mobile device at m.fema.gov. If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free Helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362.  The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) daily until further notice.

Additional details on the locations of Disaster Recovery Centers and the loan application process can be obtained by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is July 9, 2013. The deadline to return economic injury applications is February 10, 2014.

For more information about the SBA’s Disaster Loan Program, visit our website at www.sba.gov.


Disaster Loans Fact SheetIL 13579 Fact Sheet 5-10-13.pdf